** Review ** Protective Love (Hidden Secrets #1) by P.J. Belden

Man and wife expressing domestic violence

Protective Love (Hidden Secrets #1)
by P.J. Belden

review by amanda

This book is a heart breaking story of a rape victim that is assaulted for 16 years repeatedly. Kayla Williams is alone, afraid and never lets anyone in until she meets Detective Jason Gold. Such a gut-wrenching but beautiful story of how horrible someone’s life can be but they still don’t give up. Even when Kayla felt she would never have her dreams of finding love because she thought she was too damaged, she never gave up and learned to let herself be loved with the help of Jason.
I absolutely loved these two characters. I was rooting for them throughout the entire book. Jason was amazing! He never let Kayla’s past and present get in the middle of his love for her. He was a protector, a gentleman, a lover and not to mention hot!! He was the one person that could make her forget, make her smile and make her happy again.
Even though the issues in this book are dark and heartbreaking, I never felt they took away from the beautiful love story that happens. The author did a perfect job of balancing the love story and keeping the seriousness of the issue in place.
I really enjoyed this book. I was almost finished when all day at work I couldn’t stop thinking about it and getting home to finish this awesome story.

That is when I know it’s a good book 🙂 I can not wait to read more from this author. I did see there is a Hidden Secrets #2 that focuses on her brother. I can not wait to get my hands on that one!

Quote from Kayla: “Whenever he was around me, I felt different. My skin tingled, and my heart skipped beats. It almost felt like I couldn’t breathe.”

 

 

5 APPLES

Leave a comment

Filed under reviews

Leave a Reply

