Ruin

Ruin

Ruin by CD Reiss

review by crystalRuin is the second book in CD Reiss’ Songs of Corruption Series.  You should read Spin first.

That being said, let’s get down to the nitty gritty with this review.  I’ll keep it as PG as I can here, but I effin loved this book!  I loved the first one too.  Spin was my first CD Reiss book, and since I loved it so much, I read her Songs of Submission series about Jonathan and Monica.  I was completely hooked and was anxiously awaiting the release of Ruin – which gets us to where we are.

Antonio Spinelli and Theresa Drazen are two of my favorite characters.  The Capo and Contessa, as they affectionately refer to each other, are star-crossed lovers in a very screwed up situation.  Theresa’s high social status is continually a factor for their relationship, as is Antonio’s position as a mafia capo.  They are two people who, by all rights, shouldn’t be in each other’s world, but they fall in love anyway.  That alone should be enough to make most people want to read it.  The fact that the author writes kick-ass books is another reason.  A third reason, and perhaps the most important one, is the fact that Theresa and Antonio have a chemistry that is beyond normal (in the best possible way).  They are explosive together and I’ve never read two characters quite like them before.

I’ll try to keep any spoilers to a minimum.  We pick up shortly after where Spin left off and now Theresa is hiding out from the backlash surrounding some major mafia business gone wrong.  Antonio is just trying to keep her safe from his life and herself, but instead, he’s smothering her.  At first, it seems they have a love/hate relationship, but, to me, it’s deeper than that.  Nothing with these two is ever that cut and dry or simple.  Part of Theresa’s greatness is the fact that she’s openly honest about the hard time she’s having coping with being herself and being tied to her Capo.  Likewise, one of the best characteristics of Antonio is the fact that he knows he should let her go, but he just can’t do it.  His selfishness and her stupidity of the situation intertwine them much more tightly than before and I just love it!

This book is written with lots of raw intensity, and I really believe that is what draws me into this fabulous world that CD Reiss has created.  When you start reading it, you really get sucked in and can feel the emotions coming off the characters.  And the emotions aren’t always pretty and neatly packaged.  Neither is life.  These characters are real.  There isn’t an easy happy ever after.  There’s a lot of shit going on in the meantime.  There are lots of feelings that add to the already tumultuous ride that Theresa and Antonio are on.

And that ending…that ending.  My blood pressure was high for a while – I’ll tell you that much.  I was very worried that things were going to go completely wrong and that I was going to have words with a certain author about what the hell she was thinking.  The biggest thing I’ll give away is to just keep reading…it’s not that bad!

Once again, I think she’s knocked it out of the park with this book and these characters.  I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series.  I’m a huge fan of hers and I think many of our readers would love her books – so check them out if you haven’t already!

5 APPLES

 

Leave a comment

Filed under reviews

Leave a Reply

