Blog Tour Review – Cause of Death by Peter Ritchie.

cause-of-death

book blurb

DCI Grace Macallan’s career has hit a serious roadblock. When a covert police operation in Northern Ireland goes badly wrong, she’s faced with a painful decision – lie to save a young officer’s career or tell the truth and ruin her own reputation. For Grace, there can be only one answer.

Reassigned to the newly formed Lothian & Borders Major Crime Team, Grace Macallan is forced to rebuild her career and her reputation. But when a brutal attack on a prostitute turns into a series of murders, the Major Crime Team is under serious pressure. The tabloid headlines are lurid and the team badly needs a result.

With a new life to build in a new city, a new boss as smooth as an 18-year-old malt and a very high profile lawyer as the chief suspect, Grace soon begins to wonder if telling the truth is always the right thing to do.

What people are saying about Cause of Death:

“A first-rate police procedural by someone who evidently knows what he’s talking about.”
HANIA ALLEN

“Audacious, Ritchie’s street talk sizzles with wit and invention. Cause Of Death is engaging, eventful and original.”
M.P. WRIGHTd4866-amazonlink2

Cause of Death BLOG TOUR.jpg

meet the author

IMG_20170919_072204.jpg

Peter Ritchie is a retired senior police officer. The real-world authenticity in his novels comes from vast experience gained working in CID, murder squads, Serious and Regional Crime Squads and Europol. He is a regular lecturer and commentator on the subject of transnational organised crime. In his spare time, Peter also enjoys writing poetry and short stories, painting and volunteering at St Columba’s Hospice and the Bethany Trust.

review by nicola

I first saw this book on Twitter, the publishing company Black and White were promoting it for it’s up coming release and it made me stop in my tracks…. people say don’t judge a book by its cover, but how can you NOT when it looks as awesome as this?!! I’m so glad they agreed to send my a review copy.

The way Peter has written this book is amazing! You can tell he comes from a Police background, he uses his experience and knowledge to the max and this really shows in this book. His attention to detail is second to none, never did I struggle to set the scene in my head, he made me feel like I was there at times (and some of those times I was really glad that I wasn’t actually there!) I liked how the text changed when the story flipped back to Northern Island, a good thing when you should be putting the book down and sleeping but need to finish that ever lasting one more chapter….. or 3 in my case.

I instantly warmed to the main character, Grace. Her strong personality, straight to the point and take no bulls**t attitude to every situation made me like her more and more and to story unfolded. And as for Mick, I expected him to be a typical detective, my way or the highway kind of guy so was surprised with his dry humour and wit…. he truly is a great character!

This book is a must read for any thriller fan! Action packed, fast paced and full of twists and turns. Peter has gone above and beyond with this book, all 76 chapters had me captivatedand and craving for more…… and I’m hoping there will be more!

With only 3 months left of 2017 I can say….. with great ease….. that this is THE BEST thriller book I have read this year!!

5 APPLES

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

