Mystery At Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase | #Review #BlogTour @ClareChase_ @Bookouture

After the black sheep of the Fulton family is found dead, the village of Saxford St Peter is quick to blame it on his past misdeeds. But Eve Mallow is on the hunt for someone closer to home…

When the down-on-his-luck Emory Fulton moves into crumbling Magpie Lodge, and starts running historical tours, the locals are none too pleased. He’s inventing grisly tales about their lovely little village, and disturbing everyone’s peace.

But then he’s found dead in his bath, and everyone is suddenly running scared. Could something strange be happening? After all, the murder mirrors one of Fulton’s stories about Saxford’s dark past…

But Eve Mallow is sure the answers lie in much more recent events.

Accompanied by her stalwart dachshund sidekick Gus, she starts to dig a little deeper. Could it be Fulton’s snobbish bigwig brother, or the suspicious local academic? Why was his goddaughter handing him mysterious parcels, and why wouldn’t his sister-in-law let him in her house?

As Eve unravels the secrets of the living and the dead, one thing is for sure: Fulton was a haunted, hunted man. And if Eve doesn’t crack the case soon, she might find whoever wanted to keep Fulton quiet on her trail too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

https://geni.us/B09BDDMH3Xsocial


Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com


Facebook: 

https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter:

http://www.twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: 

http://www.clarechase.com

Instagram: 

https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

I will confess, I am a cover judger but Clare need not fear as this is what drew me to her book…. And obviously the blurb.

A cosy mystery perfect for those dark night, one that pulls you in page by page, one that has you suspecting everyone… Even the dog!

I love the way Clare writes her books, she slowly plants the seed and page by page waters it and before you know it that couple of pages you said you’d read before bed turns into a couple of chapters!

She has a way of describing her setting that has you thinking you’ve been there before, or somewhere pretty close. Her attention to detail is spot on, her characters could be real and I love how she manages to throw you of the path as to where the ending is going – she definitely got me at the end of this.

A lovely read that has be heading to the start of the series to see what I’ve missed!

Follow the tour and read what the other readers and bloggers thought to Mystery at Magpie Lodge.

One thought on “Mystery At Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase | #Review #BlogTour @ClareChase_ @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s