#BlogTour #Review #TheirLastWords by @mrparkerspen @joffebooks @books_n_all

Firstly I’d like to apologise for my review being so late in the day, turns out June doesn’t have 31 days and it’s actually the 1st of July today and not tomorrow, like I though!

Steve, please don’t kill me in your next book ūüėā so without further ado let me introduce you to THE most gripping thriller I have read to date! Ladies and gentlemen,¬†THEIR LAST WORDS by Steve Parker

THEIR LAST WORDS.jpg

book blurb

Discover a crime thriller full of shocking twists by one of the most exciting new authors you’ll read this year.
 
A VICTIM. A MUTILATED BODY. A SINGLE WORD.

A young woman is found dead on the streets of London. Her throat slashed, her body mutilated, and one word carved into her flesh:¬†‚ÄúDON‚ÄôT.‚ÄĚ
 
Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is assigned to the case. Young, handsome, and from a well-off background, he’s tipped for the top. He joins a team based out of Bermondsey, South London. It’s meant to be a stepping stone to his next promotion, but this case will threaten to bring down his career and everything he thought he knew about policing.
 
Paterson is put in charge of the dead girl’s investigation and quickly discovers he must rely on his friend and mentor, Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan to guide him through.
 
THEN ANOTHER BODY IS DISCOVERED. ANOTHER WORD CUT INTO THE VICTIM’S CHEST.

The police realise they may have a depraved serial killer on their hands. The murderer is trying to send them a message carved in his victims’ bodies. But who’s the message for?
 
How many more must die? Detective Paterson may be the only man who can stop this vile killer . . . if he can survive long enough.
 
This is the first in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth.
 
Perfect for fans of  Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.
 
PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A HEAVILY REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS ‚ÄúTHE SKY IS CRYING.‚ÄĚ

TWO DETECTIVES WHO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT EACH OTHER MUST WORK TOGETHER

Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson,¬†is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he‚Äôs weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a ‘climber’.
 
Detective Sergeant Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can.
 
Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan¬†is an old-school copper who trusts his instincts but relies on evidence. He is typical in that his marriage has broken down and he’s been unable to form a relationship since.
 

Steve Parker author photo.jpg

THE AUTHOR
Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.
 
THE SETTING
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

meet the author

I was born and raised in South East London (Peckham to be precise – cushty, my son). At the ripe old age of twenty-one, I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served for twenty years before I was pensioned out with a serious back injury. I then went to work as an enforcement officer for a local authority before taking redundancy.

Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills so was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing (I’d been writing on and off for years).

When I’m not writing, I’m out taking photographs, something I’ve done since I was a nipper and will do until the day I shuffle off this mortal coil.

I live down in the windier part of East Sussex near the sea with my long-suffering wife and my ‘off-her-nut’ cockerpoo. I have two sons of whom I am so proud, I cannot begin to tell you.

review by nicola

Anyone that knows me or reads my blog will know that I am a HUGE thriller fan and this book blew my mind!

Now a word of warning, this book is grusomely detailed, and I mean really detailed and some scenes had me muttering ‘sweet Lord!’ ‘OMG!’ to the point that I woke my husband up while burning the midnight oil.

A gruesome body on the first page and I was hooked. This book never takes its foot off the gas, as bodies turn up left right and centre Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson and his team have their work cut out for them.

There is a little tonge in cheek humour that comes from Johnny Clocks, but I loved him as a character and was probably my favourite next to Dave Jordan.

I will admit I didn’t guess ‘whodunit’ and I had a little GASP when I found out who it was…… it’s always the quiet ones! I will also hold my hands up and say I have 3% of the book left to read (naughty of me I know!) And I’ve been told there’s a little twist awaiting me, I’ll be back to edit my review once I’ve read it.

This action packed, fast paced and truly gripping book is….. well it’s awesome! I will be recommending it to all my friends that enjoy this kind of book. Very easy and VERY well deserved 5 golden apples from me!

5apples-1

Blog tour - Their Last Words.jpg

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under Joffe Books, reviews

2 responses to “#BlogTour #Review #TheirLastWords by @mrparkerspen @joffebooks @books_n_all

  1. Pingback: BLOG TOUR WRAP UP: Their Last Words (Ray Paterson #1) by Steve Parker @mrparkerspen @joffebooks #raypaterson #blogtour #theirlastwords #netgalley #TeamJoffeBooks #Picksof2018 #crimefiction #Policeprocedural – Books n All Book Promotions

  2. Pingback: FEATURE FRIDAY: Steve Parker @mrparkerspen @joffebooks #raypaterson #theirlastwords #TeamJoffeBooks #crimefiction #Policeprocedural – Books n All Book Promotions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s